Modern Indian History solved MCQs

1 of 25

1. Which British Governor General introduced Postage Stamp in India?

a. Lord Dalhousie

B. Lord Auckland

c. Lord Canning

d. Lord William Bentinck

2. The first telegraph line between Calcutta and Agra was opened in -

a. 1851

B. 1853

c. 1854

d. 1855

3. The former princely state Nahan is part of which State now?

a. Punjab

B. Haryana

c. Uttarakhand

d. Himachal Pradesh

4. Which town/city in India has got a tower (minaar) named after Muhammad Ali Jinnah?

a. Mumbai

B. Aligarh

c. Calicut

d. Guntur

5. Which of the following Acts gave representation to the Indians for the first time in legislation?

a. Indian Councils Act, 1909

B. Indian Councils Act, 1919

c. Government of India Act, 1919

d. Government of India Act, 1935

6. Punjab was annexed to the British empire during the reign of Governor-General

a. Lord Bentick

B. Lord Dalhousie

c. Lord Cornwallis

d. Lord Canning

7. The Mohemmadan Anglo-Oriental College at Aligarh was founded by -

a. Md. Ali Jinnah

B. Mohammad Ali

c. Saukat Ali

d. Sir Syed Ahmed Khan

8. Who among the following is generally regarded as the pioneer of Local Self- Government in Modern India?

a. Ripon

B. Lytton

c. Mayo

d. Curzon

9. Who is known as the Grand Old Man of India'?

a. Dadabhai Naoroji

B. Gopal Krishna Gokhale

c. Bal Gangadhar Tilak

d. Surendranath Banerjee

10. Bhulabhai Desai's most memorable achievement was his defence of the Indian National Army (I.N.A.) personnel at the Red Fort Trial towards the end of -

a. 1943

B. 1944

c. 1945

d. 1946

11. The First Viceroy of the Portuguese in the East was -

a. Albuquerque

B. Joa de Castro

c. Francisco de Almedia

d. Nuno da Cunha

12. The system of communal electorate in India was first introduced by -

a. Indian Council Act of 1892

B. Minto-Morley reforms of 1909

c. Montagu-Chelmsford reforms of 1919

d. Government of India of 1935

13. The System of Dyarchy was introduced in India in -

a. 1909

B. 1935

c. 1919

d. 1945

14. The Editor of Young India and 'Harijan' was -

a. Nehru

B. Ambedkar

c. Mahatma Gandhi

d. Subash Chandra Bose

15. 'Neel Darpan' a play depicting the revolt against the indigo planters was written by -

a. Dinbandhu Mitra

B. Bankim Chandra Chatterjee

c. Rabindranath Tagore

d. Naveen Chandra Sen

16. 'Deshbandhu' is the title of -

a. B.R. Ambedkar

B. C.R. Das

c. B.C. Pal

d. Rabindranath Tagore

17. The Bhoodan Movement was launched by -

a. Mahatma Gandhi

B. Jaiprakash Narain

c. Vinoba Bhave

d. Rammanohar Lohia

18. The last Governor-General of the East India Company and the first Viceroy under the crown was

a. Lord Elgin

B. Lord Canning

c. Lord Warren Hastings

d. Lord Dalhousie

19. The first Governor-General of Bengal was -

a. Lord Clive

B. Lord Warren Hastings

c. Lord John Shore

d. Lord Cornwallis

20. Gandhi's 'Dandi March' is associated with:

a. Khilafat Movement

B. Civil Disobedience Movement

c. Non-Cooperation Movement

d. Quit India Movement

21. Who among the following is not a moderate?

a. Pherozeshah Mehta

B. Surendranath Banerjee

c. Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee

d. Bal Gangadhar Tilak

22. Dring British rule, who was instrumental for the introduction of the Ryotwari system in the then Madras Presidency?

a. Macartney

B. Elphinstone

c. Thomas Munro

d. John Lawrence

23. Which one of the following novels was a source of inspiration for the freedom fighters in India?

a. Pariksha Guru

B. Anandmath

c. Rangbhoomi

d. Padmarag

24. Who initiated the movement to form the India Nations Congress:

a. Annie Besant

B. A.O. Hume

c. W.C. Banerjee

d. Gandhiji

25. Gandhiji's famous Quit India Movement call to the British was given in -

a. 1943

B. 1941

c. 1942

d. 1940


Question and answers in Modern Indian History,

Modern Indian History Multiple choice questions and answers,

Important MCQ of Modern Indian History,

Solved MCQs for Modern Indian History,

Modern Indian History MCQ with answers PDF download