Indian Polity solved MCQs

1 of 20

1. Which of the following exercised the most profound influence in framing the India Constitution?

a. British Constitution

B. US Constitution

c. Irish Constitution

d. The Government of India Act, 1935

2. The first attempt to introduce a representative and popular element in the governance of India was made through:

a. Indian Council Acts, 1861

B. Indian Council Acts, 1892

c. Indian Council Acts, 1909

d. Government of India Act, 1919

3. Which of the following acts introduced communalelectorate in India?

a. Indian Council Act, 1909

B. Indian Council Act, 1892

c. Indian Council Act, 1892

d. Government of India Act, 1935

4. By virtue of which Act, diarchy was introduced inIndia?

a. Indian Council Act, 1909

B. Government of India Act, 1919

c. Government of India Act, 1935

d. Indian Independence Act, 1947

5. The Instrument of instructions contained in the Government of India Act, 1935 ha been incorporated in the Constitution of India in the year 1950 as –

a. Fundamental Rights

B. Directive Principles of the State Policy

c. Fundamental Duties

d. Emergency Provisions

6. The Government of India Act, 1935 was based on:

a. the principle of federation and parliamentary system

B. the principle of succession of the British Indian provinces

c. acceptance of the idea of a Constituent Assembly to draft a constitution

d. None of these

7. Consider the following Acts:
1. The Regulating Act, 1773
2. Pitt’s India Act, 1784
3. The Charter Act, 1793
4. Indian Council Act,1861
What is the correct chronological sequence of these Acts?

a. 1, 2, 3, 4

B. 2, 1, 3, 4

c. 4, 3, 2, 1

d. 3, 4, 2, 1

8. Consider the following statements – The objective of the Montague-Chelmsford Reforms of 1919 was:
1. To give power to the local government
2. To establish diarchy in the provinces
3. The extension of provincial government
Which of these statements are correct?

a. 1 and 2

B. 1 and 3

c. 2 and 3

d. 1, 2 and 3

9. Consider the following with reference to the provisions of ‘Government of India Act, 1935’:
1. Establishment of an all-Indian Federation
2. Provincial autonomy, with a Government responsible to an elected legislature
3. Redistribution of provinces and the creation of two new provinces Which of these were embodied in the Government India Act, 1935?

a. 1, 2, and 3

B. 1 and 2

c. 2 and 3

d. 1 and 3

10. Consider the following statements with reference to the provisions of Morley-Minto Reform Act in the Colonial India:
1. The Morley- Minto Reform Act raised the number of additional number of the Central Legislature
2. It introduced the principle of communal representation in the Legislature
3. It empowered the Legislation to discuss the budget and to move resolutions on it
Which of these statements are correct?

a. 1 and 2

B. 2 and 3

c. 1, 2 and 3

d. 1 and 3

11. Two independent states of India and Pakistan were created by:

a. The Simla Conference

B. The Cripps proposal

c. The Cabinet Mission Plan

d. The Indian Independence Act

12. In the Federation under the Act of 1935 residuary powers were given to the:

a. Federal Legislature

B. Provincial Legislature

c. Governor General

d. Provincial Governor

13. Who was the Chairman of the Union Power Committee of Constituent Assembly of India?

a. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

B. Dr. B. R. Ambedkar

c. Sir Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar

d. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru

14. What was the basis for constituting theConstituent Assembly of India?

a. The resolution of Indian National Congress

B. The Cabinet Mission Plan, 1946

c. The Indian Independence Act, 1947

d. The resolution of the Provincial / State legislature of the Dominion of India

15. The Constitution of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on –

a. 26th January, 1950

B. 26th January, 1949

c. 26th November, 1949

d. 15th August, 1947

16. Who presided over the first meeting of the Indian Constituent Assembly?

a. Dr. Rajendra Prasad

B. Sachchidananda Sinha

c. B.R. Ambedkar

d. Jawahar Lal Nehru

17. Who among the following was the advisor to the Drafting Committee of Constituent Assembly?

a. B. Shiva Rao

B. B.R. Ambedkar

c. Sachchidananda Sinha

d. B.N. Rau

18. The Constituent Assembly of India held its first meeting on:

a. 9th December, 1946

B. 1st January, 1947

c. 26th January, 1947

d. 15th August, 1947

19. Who among the following was not a member of the Constituent Assembly?

a. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

B. Acharya J.B. Kripalani

c. Jai Prakash Narayan

d. K.M. Munshi

20. Who was the Chairman of the Provincial Constitution Committee of the Constituent Assembly?

a. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

B. Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru

c. Dr. Rajendra Prasad

d. Sardar Patel

21. The number of members included in the Constitution Drafting Committee was:

a. Seven

B. Nine

c. Eleven

d. Thirteen

22. Who proposed the Preamble before the Drafting Committee of the Constitution?

a. Jawahar Lal Nehru

B. B.R. Ambedkar

c. B.N. Rau

d. Mahatma Gandhi

23. The Presidential Government operates on the principle of –

a. Division of powers between centre and states

B. Centralization of Powers

c. Balance of Powers

d. Separation of powers

24. Match List-1with List – II and select the correct answer from the codes given below the lists –
List – I List – II
(Forms of Government) (Principles)
A. Presidential system 1. Seperation of powers
B. Parliamentary system 2.Close relationship between executive and legislature
C. Federal System 3. Concentration
D. Unitary System 4. Division of power
Code: A B C D

a. 1 2 3 4

B. 2 1 3 4

c. 2 1 4 3

d. 1 2 4 3

25. Which of the following countries have an unwritten constitution?

a. USA


c. India

d. Pakistan


Question and answers in Indian Polity,

Indian Polity Multiple choice questions and answers,

Important MCQ of Indian Polity,

Solved MCQs for Indian Polity,

Indian Polity MCQ with answers PDF download