110+ Miscellaneous Indian History Solved MCQs


In which battle was Siraj-ud-Daulah defeated by Lord Clive?

A. Battle of Plassey
B. Battle of Buxer
C. Battle of Panipat
D. Battle of Haldighati
Answer» A. Battle of Plassey
Explanation: The Battle of Plassey was fought between Nawab Siraj-ud-Daulah, the last independent Nawab of Bengal, and the British East India Company under Robert Clive on 23 June, 1757.

The national motto of India Satyameva Jayate' inscribed below the emblem of India is taken from

A. Katha Upanishad
B. Caandogya Upanishad
C. Aitareya Upanishad
D. Mundaka Upanishad
Answer» D. Mundaka Upanishad
Explanation: Satyameva Jayate (Truthalone triumphs) is a mantra from the ancient Indian scripture Mundaka Upanishad Upon independence of India, it was adopted as the national motto of India.

Who built 'Sabarmati Ashram'?

A. Guru Ramdas
B. Shah Jahan
C. Rao Jodhaji
D. Mahatma Gandhi
Answer» D. Mahatma Gandhi
Explanation: Sabarmati Ashram was setup by Gandhi in Ahmedabad in 1917 after his return from South Africa. Gandhi's first Ashram in India was established in the Kochrab area of Ahmedabad in 1915.

Who amongst the following was the successor of Sikh Guru Har Krishan?

A. Guru Angad Dev
B. Guru Tegh Bahadur
C. Guru Hargobind
D. Guru Amar Das
Answer» B. Guru Tegh Bahadur
Explanation: Guru Tegh Bahadur was appointed as the as the ninth guru of Sikhs in 1664 A.D after the eighth Guru Kar Kishan contracted smallpox.

Who started the Swaraj movement?

A. Lokmanya Tilak
B. Bhagat Singh
C. Kasturba
D. Gopal Krishna Gokhale
Answer» A. Lokmanya Tilak
Explanation: Annie Besant along with Lokmanya Tilak, launched the Home Rule movement (Hind Swaraj) to campaign for democracy in India and dominion status within the Empire in 1916.

Atal Bihari Vajapayee, had been a Prime Minister for -

A. One time
B. Two times
C. Three times
D. Four times
Answer» C. Three times
Explanation: Atal Bihari Vajpayee served three terms as the Prime Minister of India: first for a term of 13 days in 1996, then for a period of 13 months from 1998 to 1999, and finally, for a full term from 1999 to 2004.

Pulitzer Prize was established in

A. 1762
B. 1883
C. 1917
D. 1965
Answer» C. 1917
Explanation: The Pulitzer Prize was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) Joseph Pulitzer who had made his fortune as a newspaper publisher.

Who designed the National Flag of Independent India?

A. Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
B. Rabindranath Tagore
C. Mahatma Gandhi
D. Pingali Venkayya
Answer» D. Pingali Venkayya
Explanation: Pingali Venkayya was an Indian freedom fighter and the designer of the flag on which Indian National Flag was based.

The Tirthankaras are related to -

A. Jainism
B. Buddhism
C. Hinduism
D. Sikhism
Answer» A. Jainism
Explanation: A Tirthankara in Jainism is a founder of a Tirtha. He achieves the enlightment and then shows the path to others.

Whose Samadhi (place of cremation) in Delhi is called Raj Ghat?

A. Mahatma Gandhi
B. Jawaharlal Nehru
C. Lal Bahadur Shasthri
D. Indira Gandhi
Answer» A. Mahatma Gandhi
Explanation: Raj Ghat is a memorial dedicated to Mahatma Gandhi in Delhi.

Naya Paisa was introduced in India in, was renamed 'Paisa' in 1964.

A. 1957
B. 1960
C. 1962
D. 1959
Answer» A. 1957
Explanation: The 1955 Indian Coinage (Amendment) Act, which came into force on April 1, 1957, introduced a 'decimal series'.

Buddha was belonged to which one of the following Mahajanapadas?

A. Lichchavi
B. Ujjain
C. Vajji
D. Kosala
Answer» D. Kosala
Explanation: Gautam Buddha was born as the son of Suddhodana, an elected chief of the Shakya clan of Kapilvastu under the Kingdom of Kosala.

The               architecture mainly consists Chaityas, Viharas, Stupas and Stambhas.

A. Maurya
B. Buddhist
C. Hindu
D. Mughal
Answer» B. Buddhist
Explanation: The Buddhist architecture mainly consists of Chaityas, Viharas, Stupa and Stambhas. The practice of making caves was started during the Mauryan peiod and reached its zenith during the 2nd century AD.

Where was Mahatma Gandhi born?

A. Madhya Pradesh
B. Assam
C. Rajasthan
D. Gujarat
Answer» D. Gujarat
Explanation: Mahatma Gandhiwas born in the town of Porbander (also known as Sudamapuri)in present Gujarat on 2 October 1869. The town was then part of the small princely state of Porbandar in the Kathiawar Agency Gandhi's birthday is commemorated in India as Gandhi Jayanti, a national holiday, and worldwide as theInternational Day of Nonviolence.
Question and answers in Miscellaneous Indian History, Miscellaneous Indian History multiple choice questions and answers, Miscellaneous Indian History Important MCQs, Solved MCQs for Miscellaneous Indian History, Miscellaneous Indian History MCQs with answers PDF download